Brokeback ve

16 01 2011

Oh Ikea, why can’t I quit you?

I wish I could say I’m over my love for Swedish pre-fab furniture. It was a good choice during my student days, and for my bachelor apartment (and seeing as I was a bachelor for a really long time, I’ve been through a LOT of Ikea furniture). It’s inexpensive, stylish and just durable enough to last until I got tired of it and wanted something new.

But now that we’re two, and fully condo-ized, I’d really hoped we could graduate to real furniture. Besides, Katie loathes the Ikea.

We made some progress when we acquired a leather couch and easy chair from a little boutique that specializes in furnishing lofts and small condos. But other pieces proved more elusive.

Real dressers and beds and night stands tend to be ugly, and outlandishly expensive. Any time we did see something we liked, it always seemed to be way out of our budget. Or more than we were willing to spend.

So we resigned ourselves to an Ikea bedroom.

The dresser took me eight hours, and more than a few expletives, to assemble. I mean seriously, could they not include at least a few words in their instructions? And what’s with those curiously neutered dudes with the stupid smiles holding Ikea wrenches telling me I should put together all Ikea furniture on the carpet because it’s so poorly made it’ll crack into pieces should I construct it on a hard floor?

It’s taken me 20 months to recover from that trauma; the companion bed frame and nightstands were delivered Friday morning. I needed almost two full days to work up the fortitude to tackle them.

Do these instructions make sense to anyone????

 

O woe, what have I got myself into?

Success! Let's just hope the whole thing doesn't collapse...

That’s because I spent most of a day putting together an Ikea wardrobe for Katie’s office.

The downside of loft living is a lack of closets. We have three; the bedroom closet for our clothes, the bike room closet for our athletic gear, a small closet in the entry way for coats and shoes. Katie was getting frustrated with the clutter beneath and around her desk.

I suggested a wardrobe. We searched antique shops, we looked into other options. But we kept coming back to a unit we’d seen in Ikea. It’s siren song was enticing; it was the right color, it had a number of shelves and it wasn’t super expensive.

Reluctantly, and alarmingly, Katie conceded it might be the best choice.

I wish I could say it’s the most awesome piece of furniture ever, an heirloom to last for generations. Alas, it’s big, and has plenty of storage capacity.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2011
Katie

Take note: When Mario wrote a couple of posts ago that he hides in the bike room whenever I’m in the kitchen for fear of the expletives vomiting from my mouth, I do the same when he’s building Ikea furniture. The dresser was F-bomb city. The wardrobe I made sure to stay at work as long as I possibly could to steer clear of that building debacle. But alas, there was no hiding from the bed and night stands … luckily those proved to be the easiest. But I too am hoping they don’t collapse mid slumber!

25 01 2011
Marlaina

You should have asked us. We are the small space experts, cut our design teeth in 450 square feet. So to help others with the same issue, since we had no floor space for a dresser, we followed the Manhattan lead and built up. We had a base made for the bed that held six drawers on each side, think they call them Captain’s beds – same colors as your bed frame – and we could have attached a headboard but decided against it. Each drawer was 22 inches wide, 24 inches deep and six inches high. They were massive, held an enormous amount of stuff. It pushed the bed up another six-or-so inches from the floor, which made it easier to see the TV. Ideal solution when there is no space.

Leave a Reply

