Weather or not

24 06 2011

In every life, a little rain must fall.

Except, not on Fridays!

Friday is Ride Day. And this week I had big plans.

On Ride Day, I try to be on the road by 10:30 a.m. Much earlier, I’m dealing with rush hour traffic heading to work. Later than that, and I’ll be riding through rush hour traffic on the way home from work, which is never fun, especially on a Friday

So if I’m turning the pedals at 10:30 (10:00 is even better) then I’ve got a solid four-hour window in which traffic is pretty manageable.

This Friday, though, I’d booked a service for my car first thing in the morning; the plan was to load my bike on the roof rack, drop the car then start my ride from the garage. An earlier start than usual, but the benefits were I would leapfrog past the arduous climb out of New West and I’d be able to ride longer and further than usual. And with two good evening rides earlier in the week, it was shaping up to be a good mileage week.

At least that was the plan until the weatherman intervened.

Oh, his forecast for scattered showers was bang on accurate alright.  And all those showers decided to scatter themselves right onto my riding route!

Even as I took transit back home after dropping the car, sans bike on the roof, I kept an eye on the sky, hoping for a break in the rain that would signal my ride back on again. For a few moments, it did let up. My spirits lifted; it wasn’t yet 10:00 so I had a chance. But by the time I got home, it was raining again. Desperately, I checked various webcams all around Vancouver to see how isolated these showers might be; but most were showing soggy dampness.

When the clock swept past 10:30, I resigned myself to ridus interuptus. I was sad, defeated.

But I didn’t want to squander the day completely. So I decided to tackle a project that’s been taunting me for months; sorting out the bike room closet!

The bike room closet before (actually, during) cleaing

The previous owners of our condo seemed to have been active people as well, as they installed an organizing system perfect for athletic gear in the downstairs bedroom that has become our bike room/office. Its shelves and shoe racks have been perfect for our cycling and running stuff.

But as is wont to happen with closets, it’s been getting increasingly disorganized. And it’s been starting to bug me.

So with the rain falling outside, my Lapierre feeling neglected inside, I set about sorting out that closet, taking out my weather frustration with organization.

And after! A place for everything and everything in its place.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

