Fast like Fabian

5 08 2011

You can have your cake and eat it too. You just have to earn it.

Since my week off in which I managed to ride more than 600 kilometres, I’ve been slacking off. Oh sure, I ascended Killer Hill twice and had one of my best ever rides up Burnaby Mountain, but the motivation on most days has been lacking. In fact, I’ve shirked my Friday ride for three weeks in a row to go to a matinee instead.

This week I was determined to break that cycle (pun intended).

But then I started to read the positive reviews about the new Planet of the Apes prequel. The trailer had looked good. I wanted to see it. And Friday matinees are my guilty pleasure, especially at the new mega-screen theatres with reserved seating.

I wanted to ride, but I also wanted to see this.

You see my dilemma?

Could I possibly pull off both?

The challenge would be daunting, as I didn’t want to do just a cop-out ride to Steveston, which I knew would get me out and back in about two hours. My goal was UBC, a route that usually takes me about three hours. I had 2.5 hours to cover nearly 70 kms, get home, change and make it to the theater for the 12:50 p.m. screening. That meant I’d have to average about 30 km/h, even in the heavy traffic areas.

To achieve the "Friday double" I'd have to match or exceed the speed limit in places

So I channeled my inner Fabian Cancellara and kicked into time trial mode. I mashed those pedals like Spartacus. And while a couple of long lights held me back, when I reached the campus in less than an hour, I knew I had a chance.

Even Spartacus himself thinks he's a Super time trialist.

I circumnavigated the grounds, then pointed the Lapierre for home. A couple of “rabbits” on the horizon probably didn’t realize what flashed past them.

My Garmin read 69 kms in 2:16 when I pulled up to the condo, an average speed of 30.3 km/h. I made it to the theatre with five minutes to spare.

The movie?

Not bad, certainly a lot better than last week’s distraction, Cowboys and Aliens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

