‘Twas the week before Christmas

18 12 2011

We’re a week out from Christmas, and all through the loft

Not a creature was stirring, not even Lapierre

The bike is hung on the wall rack with care

It’s been more than a month since she last left this lair

Sigh.

It’s been a tough month for riding. Oh sure, there have been a couple of evening trail rides, and one or two runs a week, but the nice weather we’ve had on a few Fridays has always coincided with the need to do other things.

Like getting ready for Christmas.

An entry at a fancy gingerbread house display at a downtown hotel.

For the most part, I’m pretty on the ball for seasonal preparations. I start my shopping in October, get most of it done by mid-November, precisely so I can enjoy the freedom of my days off to do things like riding. And avoid the overcrowded mall scene.

But this year there seemed to be a surplus of errands to manage, like getting a haircut, or getting the car in for service.

It’s made for some crabby afternoons of self-loathing, as I reasoned that I could have ridden on those days if I really had the motivation.

It’s a funk I’m going to have to shake, otherwise it’s going to be a long winter.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

