Rewarding rides

25 07 2012

I love the calorie counter function on my Garmin.

While the other readings like distance, speed, time and elevation tell you what you have done, the calorie counter tells you what you CAN do. Which, as every cyclist knows, usually involves a reward of some sort of indulgent food or beverage.

Mmmm, chocolate/raspberry and grapefruit sorbetto…

Presumably the little computer that is perched on the stem of my Lapierre uses some kind of algorithm based upon the weight and height data I input when I first set it up to calculate an approximation of the energy I’ve expended based upon the ride data.

Mid-ride rewards, aka lunch, are allowed.

I’ve no idea how accurate it is.

But when the Garmin tells me I’ve used 4100 calories on a 130 km ride, that’s good enough for me to raid the refrigerator. Guilt free!

After a long hot day on the bike, nothing’s better.

The ultimate in post-ride satisfaction?

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 07 2012
Scully

such a nice post until THE PIG ON A SPIT!
ugh. bleaaaaaah

25 07 2012
Katie

When I told my parents I wanted a pig for a pet, I NEVER meant a pig on a spit… couldn’t believe when I walked into the backyard and saw poor Miss Piggy over the fire with a ginormous rod rammed through her butt! But Mario, he was quite overjoyed when he rode his bike into the parking lot and was told by my pops he’d be getting pig on a spit for post-ride reward!

Leave a Reply

