May showers

2 06 2013

I humbly apologize for the white flash that may have ended your Sunday morning slumber.

That wasn’t the sun exploding into super nova. That was my legs.

It’s June. Time to put on the proper cycling shorts.

Shield your eyes or you might be blinded by the whiteness of my legs.

Shield your eyes or you might be blinded by the whiteness of my legs.

May used to be spring’s finest month.

Many years ago I learned never to take spring vacation in June. It rains a lot, and it can be cool I discovered from one ill-timed June camping excursion too many.

May’s sunny days can be glorious and numerous, warming the lingering memories of the long, wet winter.

But the last three years May’s been anything but fine.

If it's May, it must be overcast and cool.

If it’s May, it must be overcast and cool.

Rain. Cold. Even a few flakes of snow.

Skirting the showers, and baring our teeth into a cold wind, Princess of Pavement and I were able to do a 60km ride together.

Skirting the showers, and baring our teeth into a cold wind, Princess of Pavement and I were able to do a 60km ride together.

Friday, the last gasp of May blew steely clouds across the sky. But the weather forecast said it would stay dry. So I kitted up, stoked for a mid-ride lunch rendezvous with Princess of Pavement and Little Ring.

But just as I was ready to pull on my cycling shoes, the clouds unleashed a steady rain. I was crestfallen, dismayed.

Alas, this has become the norm in May, rather than the exception.

Alas, this has become the norm in May, rather than the exception.

I trudged around the condo, watching my ride window wash away.

“Just go,” urged Princess of Pavement.

But it’s one thing to get caught in the rain mid-ride. It’s quite another to head out into the teeth of the storm.

“Go,” said P of P. Again.

So I pulled on my rain cape and headed out.

By the time the elevator door opened into our building’s lobby, the sun was shining in the courtyard. Two kilometres into the ride, the roads were dry.

And just as we’d originally planned, halfway through my ride, there were P of P and LIttle Ring’s smiling faces to greet me at our lunch stop.

Little Ring seems happy to see Big Ring at his ride's lunch stop.

Little Ring seems happy to see Big Ring at his ride’s lunch stop.

A good day to end May.

The first ride of June. Blue skies and a veritable peloton for the FRF Sunday morning group ride.

The first ride of June. Blue skies and a veritable peloton for the FRF Sunday morning group ride.

Actions

Information

One response

4 06 2013
scully

It hasn’t been much better out here in ONTERRIBLE!
we got a bit of warm weather but it didn’t last more than a few days. I will admit though, it’s been beautiful more and more lately. It came at a cost though, I was racing in full on cold weather gear less than a month ago.

I want to move down south. Where I can ride year round in the warm sunshine!

Leave a Reply

