Tainted love. Or how my Garmin let me down.

8 03 2015

I went for a ride on Sunday.

I swear.

In fact, I even blew off road hockey to take the Lapierre out.

The weather was that nice.

But there is no evidence of my ride.

My Garmin seems to have failed me.

The data registered. I watched it, 65.65 kms. Even mentioned the final distance to one of my FRF companions.

But when I plugged the Garmin into my computer, all I got was the screen every cyclist, runner, rower, hiker addicted to its affirmation of effort dreads:

NO NEW ACTIVITIES TO UPLOAD!

The horror. The horror. If the Garmin didn't record a ride, did the ride actually happen?

The horror. The horror. If the Garmin didn’t record a ride, did the ride actually happen?

First time this has happened in the five years I’ve owned my Garmin.

I opened the .fit folder and there’s no data for today’s ride.

It’s as if it didn’t even happen.

Which is a shame. As I know there had to be some badges on there, maybe even a trophy or two.

It was good to be spinning this early in the season with some of the renowned FRF speedsters. The route was flat, so that made for a good pace. Important to tame the early chill.

Daylight savings time means a Sunday ride starts in the morning chill.

Daylight savings time means a Sunday ride starts in the morning chill.

But after the snack stop, the air temperature was definitely on an upward trend. Or we were.

Of course, when I glance down and still see the sustained pace a couple or few kms less that what I might be pedalling in July or August, I have to keep reminding myself it’s still early in March. Sometimes we still have snow on the roads this time of year.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

