The more things are the same…

11 01 2016

The more things are the same, the more they’ve changed.

Twenty-five years ago (almost half my lifetime), I was in the exact same boat; looking for work, pondering the next phase of my career.

Back then a recession punted me from my first full-time newspaper gig. I desperately wanted to make my mark in the industry, I was single, rootless, willing to go anywhere to make that happen.

I never imagined I’d end up in British Columbia’s south coast.

I’d visited Vancouver as a tourist once, during Expo 86. People in my part of the world talked with wistful hope about someday being able to live in balmy Vancouver, especially in the depths of a cold, snowy Ontario winter. It seemed a fanciful dream.

But some timely connections, a little luck and a burgeoning, competitive community newspaper scene in Vancouver’s suburbs brought me here.

A quarter century later I’ve had a good run in the newspaper business, I’ve planted roots in a community I love, I’ve a partner who inspires me every day and a Little Ring who makes me smile every minute.

And when the sun is glinting off the snow-capped Coast Mountains, the roads are dry, the temperature is tickling 10 degrees and I’m riding my bike while the rest of the country is scraping ice from windshields and digging out of snowdrifts, I appreciate that fanciful dream of long ago is my reality. Has been for almost 25 years.

Really, does it get any better than this? Riding on a sunny, mild Saturday afternoon in January, river, mountains and sky filling my vision.

Really, does it get any better than this? Riding on a sunny, mild Saturday afternoon in January, river, mountains and sky filling my vision.

Sure, I’m currently out of work and a part of me is always worrying about the future.

Sure, it’s an expensive part of the world that likely means we’ll never progress beyond the condo we currently occupy, and love.

Sure, traffic can be a nightmare. The urban landscape can cut an ugly swath through nature’s beauty.

There's old growth forest and then there's industrial growth forest.

There’s old growth forest and then there’s industrial growth forest.

But when a panorama of sea, mountains and sky fills your vision, the air is clean and cool, and your thighs burn from a spirited off-season ride, life is good.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

