Seizing opportunity

1 02 2016

Winter riding is about seizing opportunity.

When the rain takes a break, the roads dry and the cold winds off the ocean calm, it’s time to pull on the tights and head out.

A break in the weather, if not the cloud cover, allows for a spontaneous day out on the bike along a favourite winter route.

A break in the weather, if not the cloud cover, allows for a spontaneous day out on the bike along a favourite winter route.

Not having a job makes that kind of spontaneity possible. Having a small cadre (well, one) of fellow post-employed journalists who also happen to ride, makes it enjoyable.

After a sparse December, January turned into a cycling bonanza.

The month started cold; in fact I wore four layers and then some for our annual FRF New Year’s Day outing.

But a clear schedule and some clear days offered great opportunities to build base mileage, more than double the distance I’d ever been able to achieve in previous January’s. The early-season riding is keeping me fit and my spirits elevated as a I continue to plough towards my next career.

It’s been four months now since my newspaper closed. Resumes are out there, but have yet to bear fruit.

But I remain confident some opportunity will present itself. And I credit some of that confidence to being able to get out and ride; getting on the bike feels productive, it brings that sense of accomplishment that can often go missing after a long day of mining job sites with no results. The cold air in my lungs and warm burn in my thighs gives me energy to press on, clears the frustration that can set in. And the swelling Strava stats set me up for a good season when it’s truly riding weather.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

