Four stages of bicycle grief

25 06 2017

 

170625cannondale

She’s a little small, not as light nor as pretty as Lapierre. But I’m on the road again thanks to my friend, RDM, who has loaned me his old Cannondale basement bike to ease my despair.

 

Even on a borrowed ride, the road felt good.

Too bad the prognosis is not quite so positive for Lapierre.

The Carbon Guy expressed doubt when I sent him photos of the offending crack. When the chain stay on Lapierre was pierced last fall, he didn’t hesitate to declare his ability to make Lapierre whole again.

And so begin the four stages of bike grief.

When the Velofix tech first showed me the crack, I was numb, disbelieving. My beloved bike was wounded, but she’d been wounded before and recovered. Surely history could repeat itself.

I spent a few days steeling my resolve to contact Carbon Guy. I was hopeful, yet fearful; perhaps it wasn’t so bad, but what if it is?

I sent the email and photos late on a Friday evening, knowing I likely wouldn’t get a response until Monday. Perhaps I was buying time to come to terms with a verdict, no matter its outcome.

Since Carbon Guy’s less-than-enthusiastic reply thudded into my In box, I’ve toggled between acceptance and despair.

Surely I could find a new ride to steal my ardour?

But when a few hardcore evenings of Google searching yielded little that made my heart skip a beat, I became frustrated, morose; what if I can’t find a bike? What if the best part of the cycling season passes me by? What if I become fat and slovenly because I can’t deny my love for ice cream yet have no 100km rides to burn off the calories?

Lapierre was as close to a dream bike I’d come without the resources to spend $10,000. In a world of Treks and Specializeds and Giants and Cervelos, she was an uncommon beauty. Her ability to carve through a speedy descent without a concern was sublime. Her weight was so feathery she lifted my heart every time I hoisted her from her perch to prepare for a ride. She turned heads, the belle of the peloton.

To match those qualities will be difficult. To surpass them will be beyond my budget.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

